The Asteroid Belt

I really enjoyed David Armano’s post yesterday on coping with online identities over at Logic+Emotion.

Now, I’m not that big on the whole lifestreaming thing. Keeping things separate is actually important to me (I feel like I’ve said this a bunch recently). Keeping ownership of my digital identity – wherever it may be hiding – means keeping things in line and where they should be.

I’m halfway there on the first tip from the article, too (plus I love the image):

1. Analyze and prioritize your social systems
Go through all of your streams and prioritize the ones that you really care about and use. Think about the content on them and how frequently you keep the stream up to date. The ones with high frequency and content that you think is valuable should go to the top of the list. Think of these as your social systems—the ones that are active are part of your system, if not they eventually become dying planets.

I wanted to add in one more thing that I do to keep in control. I have my comfort levels of how far out I’m willing to go, and, to go with Dave’s metaphor, I’ll call it my asteroid belt.


For example, I tend to let my social link sharing happen through my other services – Twitter, Facebook – but that’s enough for me. I don’t do nearly enough shareable powerpoint presentations to make Slideshare part of my grab bag. For me, my asteroid belt is somewhere just past the LinkedIn ring. I’ll adventure out there, but I like my half of the solar system just fine.

The other thing I really love about this image is that – yes, Virginia – you are the center of your social media. As I try to get my “real world” (read: non digital media geeks) friends to embrace something like Twitter, usually I get the same response. Many of you do, too.

“Isn’t that a little stalkerish?”

No. It’s not. You choose what you update. You choose who you follow to get information that they choose to update (we’re back to this intent idea, hmm). You can even block people. Social media revolves around *you* if you choose to participate. Twitter is not a thing, following you around and publishing what you are doing/reading/breathing/drinking/wearing.

Although, I would like to try this for a day. Any volunteers to let me to be their Designated Tweeter? That sounds like an entire post and obnoxious case study in and of itself.

Leave a Reply

